Skip to content

CUDA Athlete News

Lady Cuda Swimmers

11/11/17 - What a wonderful Saturday for Cuda athletes! We had Lady Cuda swimmers in Stuart competing in a state meet; Cross Country men in Tallahassee at a state meet; and Volleyball at Choctaw HS in Fort Walton Beach in the state semi-finals.

Here are their results:

Lady Cuda Swimmers: 4 athletes competed, Samantha Sydeski; Kalley Hoots; Jillian Malphurs; and Amanda Alfaro. The girls broke their own school record with a time of 1:42:99 in the 200 Free Relay. They cam in 13th place. Amanda Alfaro came in 12th place with a time of 53.43, I believe in the 100 Free.

Men's XC: 7 athletes competed.  Payne Meyer, Aidan O'Gorman, Logan Horning, Mason Peeples, Austin Reheiser, Christian Ciccarello, Ricky Seberig, Time Duncan.  The team placed 6th in the state with Payne Meyer 7th overall; Aidan O'Gorman 8th overall and Logan Horning 11th overall.

Lady Cuda Volleyball Team played in the Final Four on Saturday. Their season of 18-1 came to an end against Choctaw HS in the semi-final game. Please congratulate these students as they are district and regional champs and represented our school well in State playoffs.

Volusia County Fair 2017 Recognitions

Miss Volusia County Fair:

Brooke Miller

Top 10 Miss Volusia County Fair:

Caitlin Oleary

Daisy Looman

Hannah Meeks

Brianna Lewis


Savannah Lynn

Scholarship Winners:

Brooke Miller- Stock Show Syndicate $1000

Ustina Guirguis- Elvin B. Daugharty $1000

Breeding Gilt Show:

Mason Coates- Grand Champion Gilt

Melody Mitchum- 1st place class winner

Brandy Smith- 2nd place class winner

Ashley Murchison- 6th place class winner

Sara Colombin- 2nd place class winner

Lilly Farrar- 6th place class winner

Breeding Sheep Show:

Brooker Miller- Grand Champion AOB, 3rd place class winner, showmanship finalist

Caitlin Oleary- Reserve Champion AOB, Showmanship finalist

Ustina Guirguis- 4th place class winner

Juliet Henning-2nd place class winner

Frangelica Oconnor- 2nd place class winner black face division, 4th place class winner white face division

Wyatt Eskew- 5th place class winner, 6th place class winner

Beef Heifer Show:

Melody Mitchum- Class winner

Ashley Murchison- 2nd place class winner

Gavin Thomas- 3rd place class winner, 5th place showmanship

Logan Selman- 4th place class winner, 3rd place showmanship

Craig Anzalone- 5th place class winner

Ashleigh Roy- Class winner, Division A champion, Reserve Overall heifer, Reserve Cow Calf pair

Ustina Guirguis- Class winner, Division B Reserve Champion, 3rd showmanship

Market Lamb Show:

Brooke Miller- 2nd place class winner, 4th overall champion, 3rd place showmanship

Ustina Guirguis- Class winner, 6th overall, showmanship finalist

Caitlin Oleary- 4th place class winner, showmanship finalist

Brianna Lewis- 8th place class winner

Hannah Meeks- 3rd place class winner

Hannah Lindmeier- 5th place class winner


Emily Williams, with Houser - 2017 Volusia County Fair Grand Champion Market Steer

Volusia County Fair - Dragster Winners 2017

Unity Day Cudas Unite!

October 25, 2017 - Unity Day at NSBHS was a day to acknowledge and support all the important causes that take place in the month of October:

Anti-Bullying, Breast Cancer Awareness, Disability Awareness, Autism Awareness, Down's Syndrome Awareness and Mix it Up at Lunch.

Students, faculty and staff had the opportunity to write a message of kindness and inspiration on a strip of colored paper of their choice. Each color represented a different cause. The strips of paper were then linked together to form a chain. A symbol of our unity, respect and support for all of these worthy causes. NSBHS students also wore red on this day to show their support!

Pictured below our Mrs. Outlaw's students showing their support!

Incredible Cuda

1st Nine Week Nominees 17-18

The students below were nominated for "Incredible Cuda" for the 1st nine weeks. Congratulations!

Daltona Mcklen

Christian Williams

Stephanie Rosh

Liam Gravey

Josh Mckenni

Taylor Hardy

Robert Lister

Riley Swanson

Gabrielle Sepanic

Saige Busiere

Kathleen Murphy

Sierra Pizzo

Katelyn Alison

Caitlyn Kelly

Melnaree Maddox

Tamia (Mia) Sanders

Shelby Balmer

Gina Ingram

Alicia Davidson

Luke Warner

Jolene Williams

Alex Bloomer

Amanda Alfaro-Chiampou

Jayden Melendez

Emily Bonamo

Devynne Duke

Hunter Hill

Caroline Clemens

Reagan Miles

Brianna Winans

Elizabeth Shawl

Bridget Rodzinak

Brennan Ericson

Ashlee Nealon

Morgan Hibel

William Albertson

Stephen Rose

Smyrna Clark

Michael Groves

Sofie Menne

Tessa Welch

Ronesha Johnson

Erica Diekman

Regan Cline

Outstanding Seniors - Class of 2017

Class of 2017 Recognizes Outstanding Seniors

Congratulations to the 20 outstanding seniors selected by the faculty for the Class of 2017. In order to be considered for this prestigious award, seniors had a list of criteria to meet which included conduct, citizenship, scholarship, extracurricular activities, and leadership. These "Outstanding Seniors of 2017" are club presidents, honor roll recipients, sports team captains and more. They are pictured below left to right.

Bottom Row

Jamie Davis, Kori Spiropoulos, Jasmine Purkiss, Treyonna Coates, Madison Russo, and Judith Southerland

Second Row

Brandon Igrec, Ryleigh Beaulieu, and Breonna Perrotta

Third Row

Gabriella Senior, April O’Gorman, Alyssa Schwartz, Angel Curry, and Pedrito Delgado

Fourth Row

Alexis Merrick, Sylvie Sorese, Megan Lawson, Aidia Bellafiore, Robert Levy, and Dawson Posick

State FFA Environmental Science Competition

Cole Harper, Brandon Igrec, Loren Hill and Kayla McNulty qualified for the State FFA Environmental Science Competition and represented New Smyrna Beach High School at the state level on January 17th. Our team took 6th place in the State of Florida. The competition components consisted of a Knowledge Practicum, an Identification of Flora and Fauna Practicum, a Problem Solving Practicum, and a Skills Practicum. The students did very well and Cole Harper was one of the top scorers in the state! Go environmental team!

Select the link below to view one of their PSA projects.

Sam Kirk Wins District Delgate!

Sam Kirk, a sophomore member of the team, won Outstanding Delegate at the Model United Nations district meet recently.

Students Honored at Cross Country Awards Banquet

Cross Country students were honored at a banquet last month.  Pictured left to right are:  Coach Jordan Tager, Dallas Hanna, Kate Dettra, Anthony Peer, Ashley Cooper, Savanah Malphurs, Aidan O'gorman, Taylor Hibel and Coach Chelsea Zavala.  

Congratulations! Northeast Florida Scholastic Art Award 2017 Winners!

2016 Exhibits by Aurora Pavlish, Dakota Smith, Hunter Tatro and Tanner Redd